Back to Top


Europe's highest award for clean urban transport

CIVITAS Award winners : Rzeszów (Poland), Bologna (Italy) together with the ECC’s Cities for Public participationMalaga (Spain), Krakow (Poland) 

About the CIVITAS Awards

The CIVITAS Awards highlight some of the most ambitious, innovative, and successful sustainable urban mobility work currently being carried out.

They provide a prime platform for towns and cities to demonstrate their excellence in the field, both in terms of policymaking and implemented measures, whilst also having their efforts recognised by the European Commission.

Winners serve as role models to other towns and cities across Europe, inspiring them in their own initiatives to make cleaner and better urban transport.

CIVITAS Awards winners revealed

In, cities once again had the chance to win Europe’s most prestigious prizes for clean urban transport.

The Awards provide a unique platform for cities to demonstrate their pioneering sustainable urban mobility activities. Winning cities enjoy Europe-wide exposure of their work and become role models that inspire others to go for greener mobility.

All cities that have signed the CIVITAS Declaration and are members of the CIVITAS Forum Network could apply for the awards. In, prizes were awarded in four categories:

  • The “Bold Measure” award, which rewards a daring approach that has yet to be widely implemented and examples of ambition leading to successful outcomes;
  • The “Citizen & Stakeholder Engagement” award, which rewards a city that has successfully engaged with citizens and/ or relevant stakeholders (e.g. NGOs or the private sector) to tackle a local urban mobility challenge;
  • The “CIVTAS Legacy” award, which rewards a city that has translated its commitment to the CIVITAS network and sustainable mobility into high-impact, innovative measures; and
  • The “Transformation” award, which rewards a city that has used mobility measures to transform itself into a smarter and more liveable environment.

All winners were chosen by the CIVITAS Award Jury, apart from the “Transformation” award, whose winner was selected by the CIVITAS Political Advisory Committee.

Read the inspiring stories of the winners now - Vinnytisa (Ukraine), Antwerp (Belgium), Stockholm (Sweden) and Bremen (Germany).

The prizes


Custom trophy and letter of acknowledgement   

Winners will receive a trophy as well as a formal acknowledgement letter signed by the European Commission, recognising your city’s commitment to cleaner, more sustainable public transport.



Pan-European visibility

Your city will be showcased on the CIVITAS website and promotional material, and receive pan-European media coverage. 


Invitation to EC conferences

You will have the opportunity to attend EC conference and workshops organised by DG MOVE on sustainable mobility.


More Information

More about the AWARDS

More about the AWARDS

More about the AWARDS

More about the AWARDS

More about the AWARDS

More about past Awards


CIVITAS Declaration and the Administrative Annex